Embroidery floss (is one of my favorite things)

I love embroidery floss. Like a whole lot. Getting new embroidery floss is equivalent to getting new office supplies, or – for those of you who don’t get excited about new sticky notes – like Christmas + Easter + Halloween + my birthday. I also love spending time organizing (and re-organizing) my floss. Is all of this weird? I don’t think so. Maybe a bit OCD. Anyways . . .

Me + embroidery floss = this.

For Christmas this year, I convinced my brother to go halfsies with me on a huge pile of embroidery floss. Probably double what I had at that point. So we tortured our poor Michaels cashier with a ridiculous number of tiny bar codes to scan (sorry . . . but not sorry) and I went home with my best Christmas present of the year.

Just for comparison, here is my floss box* before Christmas:

With the new skeins added, organized by color:

And finally, organized by DMC number:

Not sure which way I like best. By color is obviously more visually satisfying, but I also like the color groupings that number order produces. Hmm, something to think about while I’m planning my next floss expansion.

*Lots of people have asked me where I got my floss box. It’s actually my brother’s old toy car box, which has lots of storage space plus a handle – perfect!

14 thoughts on “Embroidery floss (is one of my favorite things)

  1. I totally hear you on this. The only thing I love more than (re)organizing my embroidery floss is (re)organizing my books.

  2. This post made me laugh. I recently spent quite a few night finally winding all my different flosses (from across three different brands) all onto little card bobbins in my very own compartment box. The joy of doing this was something I could never have fathomed! I love seeing all the threads in that little box. But like you I have a dilemma! I splurged and as a late birthday present bought myself the complete range of Sublime stitching floss.- And they are arranged in lovely little ‘palettes’- essentially bouquets -and I can’t bear to split them up. I think I need another box just for them… Oh noes! (If you are crazy, then I think I’m crazy too)

    1. The winding motion is so soothing, isn’t it? Oh my goodness, I’ve been eyeing Jenny’s palettes since they’ve come out – especially the skin tones group! They are so pretty together. Haha, I won’t tell anyone if you get a special box just for them. It’ll be our secret (add on to that that I’ll probably be buying a few of those palettes soon too . . .).

  3. I am the exact same way. I LOVE buying new floss, but then generally realize by the time I get home that I already own several skeins of the new color “I just had to have”! Eh, at 37 cents a pop it’s not going to affect the state of the union.

    Lex
    http://www.lefylex.com

    1. Haha, I had a bunch of those doubles (and a few triples) this time around. I use the cheap price to justify it to myself too – it’s so easy to keep adding them to my shopping basket . . .

  4. Hi! I just found your blog through google. I just had to comment, because I can totally relate to your bobbinwinding obsession! I just spent 2 full evenings winding my floss onto bobbins, and I’m sad I’m all done! Luckily I have the sorting ahead of me!

Discuss!

