New projects

I thought I’d share photos of a few smaller pieces I’m working on. The first is a collection of quotes stitched on Aida scraps. I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do with them yet, but they remind me a bit of fortune cookie slips. Maybe I’ll stick them between subway seat cushions or in library books for other people to find.

DSC_0616

At the top is a quote my aunt stitched on a sampler she made for our family: “With fingers so nimble, she plied her needle and thimble.” Second is a piece of medieval poetry featured in A Discovery of Witches: “I saw her coming from the forest. Huntress of myself, beloved Diana.” And finally, the beginnings of an Anthony Trollope quote: “There is no happiness in love, except at the end of an English novel.”

Another piece based on a Kate Beaton comic:

And another based on a Ryan Pequin comic:

I want this because of reasons.

4 thoughts on “New projects

  1. You have such a modern take on cross stitch! It’s like you made it cool! ‘Crafting’ in general, is a terminology I hate, because it makes me feel like I should be sitting in my mom jeans cross stitching a dolphin seascape, but you really make it awesome.

    1. Aw, thanks so much! I agree – a lot of people now think of crafting as something uncool. Thankfully there’s lots of people around the web sharing awesome new ideas for cross stitch, embroidery, knitting – everything!

Discuss!

